Home

Hello! Just wanted to give everyone an update on what’s going on with me here in NY. First of all, the city is just crazy wild. Lots of hustle and bustle, as most of you know.

I have been here for about three weeks now, and it’s been quite busy. I spent a good two weeks getting everything unpacked and decorating my apartment, as well as building stuff, as you’ll see in the photos. Yes, I’ve included photos of my humble abode. You can view them by following this link:
My Apartment

I live in Astoria, Queens which is one of the burroughs of New York. Queens is to the east of Manhattan.

Amy has been doing some part time reviewing for a website called offoffonline.com Her reviews are wonderful, and even though up until recently it has been on a volunteer basis (they are now paying her!), it has allowed us to see a variety of theatre here. Her reviews typically are the editor’s pick of the week!

We went with our friend Cami Shreve to go see Trailer Park, the musical. This show was a riot. Unfortunately the show will be closing soon, so TED BAILEY listen up – you guys need to snatch the rights to this. I guarantee you it will sell. The best part is that all the women’s roles are fantastic, as Amy and Cami can attest to.

Amy and I spent thanksgiving with the Van Cleaves in Norwood, NJ. It was a great dinner and great to spend time with my main man, he-Cameron and lil’ Chrissie. I know this sounds like a cliche, but Cayliegh just gets more and more adorable everytime I see her!

Cameron took me to the Dublin House while he was here in the city. We later stopped backstage at the Minskoff Theatre where Cameron’s stepmother Ann (a very lovely person) is performing in the Broadway revival of Fiddler On The Roof. She gave us a tour of the theatre and Cameron and I posed on stage as Chrissie snapped a photo of us.

On thursday (12/8), I start my very first New York rehearsal. I am directing some staged readings of three one-act plays for the Queens Theatre in the Park. I’ve attached the flyer for your viewing pleasure. The performances are this weekend. The writing ranges from pretty good to…huh? There are ten plays in all, and I’m one of the three directors.

I’ve also been hired on as Assistant Director for a new play called Trial By Water which is being co-produced by Queens Theatre In The Park and the Ma-Yi Theatre. The director is John Gould Rubin, who has appeared in several movies including Three Men and a Baby, is friends with Philip Seymour Hoffman and was married to Julianne Moore several years ago. I’m already impressed with his credentials 🙂

Saturday I got to sit in on a callback audition for Trial By Water. All the actors were great and they were all Asian! Wow – there’s more of them like me here! 🙂

This experience has been quite serendipitous and I have to thank Rob Urbinati (Associate Artistic Director: Queens Theatre In The Park) for it, since he recommended me for both of these projects without even knowing me or seeing any of my work!

I will probably look for a part time job or flexible full time job after the first of the year. So far I love being here. There are so many things to see and do. I’m not talking about the typical tourist stuff, I’m talking about watching the old rickety man who stands near my subway stop everyday and sings old 50’s love songs to himself. Or walking down the streets of my neighborhood and/or in Manhattan, and playing the game “Is it water or is it urine?” With that said, I do miss everyone.

Also, good news – I will be back home for the holidays from Dec 21 – Dec 28. I’ll let everyone know when I’ll be up in Omaha so we can all hopefully get together. Feel free to email me or give me a call. I would love to hear how things are going with you!

Leave a Reply

