Home

My body was still pretty sore prior to Thursday’s practice.  Nonetheless, I got on the subway and met the team at the park. We did lot’s of sprints, push ups, and sit ups.  Needless to say, it was intense.  However, the backdrop of Central Park and the windows of buildings looming behind the trees, made for splendid scenery. 

With each push up, each sit up, each leap frog up the hill, I felt my body being literally ingrained into the soil of Manhattan.  After the workout, we huddled up and I immediately felt bonded with the team.  Their philosophy is simple – leave no man or woman behind.  Pick up their slack if they can’t go further.  We do it together or we don’t do it at all.  Saturday mroning at 9am, we get to train on the boat, which I am looking forward to. After the workout, we all dispersed, saying our goodbyes, and I walked by myself down a different path in the park, and it was a nice quiet walk, and nice time to just wind down and revel in the delight of wearing home spots and patches of mud and grass, courtesy of Central Park.

One thought on “Dragon Boat Practice – Thursday

Leave a Reply

