Home

Eye of Nuge
So I got LASEK on June 1st. The morning I came in, I had to take a valium. It didn’t really hit me until I got into the OR. Once I laid down, I was…serene.

They put some drops in my eyes to numb them. They started on the first eye by sticking a speculum (sp?) in it to keep my eyelids open. Amy was there with me – she thought it was funny they called it a speculum.

Dr. Chynn started to pull back the outer layer of my eye. I didn’t feel anything but I could see it! It was the freakiest thinging ever. Then they shot the laser on me (they had taken measurements of by eye a few weeks before) and it was over in less than a minute. Then on to my left eye, same thing, and bam – I was seeing 20/60. Not bad. Over the next four days, I had to keep my eyes shut as much as possible.

On the second day, I tried to check email, and my eyes were so sensitive to light – was was like staring into the sun. It’s been about two weeks now since my surgery and my vision is improving everyday. I take steroid drops 4 times a day plus natural tear drops every hours, since the LASEK tends to dry your eyes out. Hopefully I will have better than 20/20 when I come back for a checkup in a few more weeks.

I’m very happy I had it done. I would reccommend it to anyone who wants to see better! Just walking down the streets of New York and seeing the billboards and people so clearly, even two blocks down, it’s amazing!

Leave a Reply

