Home

So I got up early to go to Best Buy this morning, as it was rumored there would be some Nintendo Wiis in stock. Mind you, I’m not a gamer per se, and in fact my last gaming console was the Coleco Vision. But after demo’ing a Wii with my buddy Jeff last week at the Nintendo Store (Rockefeller Plaza), I was hooked. What I love about it is the games are really fun to play, and it keeps you active.

So I got to Best Buy this morning at 9:45am thinking the store would open at 10am. I was wrong. The store actually opened at 11am! Much to my chagrin, there was already a line! Luckily, I was about the 10th person in line, so my chances were pretty good. So, I turned on my Treo and started watching the rest of The Aviator, to pass some time. Coincidentally, there’s a Gamestop across the street from this particular Best Buy, and the people waiting in line were waving their purchase tickets at us as if they were saying “Hey look, we’re going to get a Wii before you!” I could feel a rivalry starting between the Gamestop line and the Best Buy line. There were many adults in line, Mothers and Fathers trying to win Parent of the Year by waiting in line on a chilly Sunday morning, just so their kid can have bragging rights. I must say though, these games are great for the kids, as it makes them active, not turning them into couch potatoes.

At 10:45am, some BB employees came out. The entire street stood still. We held our breaths, as we saw the beautiful blue Wii purchase tickets, being handed out one by one to us. These tickets basically said, not matter what, barring an act from God, you will get your Wii. As a sidenote, Best Buy employees should never be given that much power, ever.

I got ticket number 10. I got it in, slapped down my Visa and numerous gift cards, and after that, I went wii, wii, wii, all the way home 🙂

One thought on “And I went Wii, Wii, Wii, all the way home!

Leave a Reply

