Home

After coming back from a seven day cruise in the Mexican Riviera, I came back to work full speed. Not only that, it was one of my busiest and productive weeks theatre-wise.

When I got back from the cruise, I had gotten an email about an audition that I submitted myself before I went on the cruise. So, I brushed up on a monologue and went in and had a very good audition. I got called back and as it turns out it was me and one other actor up for the part of the Father (which I auditioned for). Admittedly, we are both a little too young for the role, but I did my best to look forty. I even wore my old glasses (sans lenses). I think I had a great call back, but even so, I’ve been on the other side of the casting table long enough to know there are so many other factors that come into play. So, I am still waiting to hear if I got cast or not, but even if I don’t, I’m very satisfied with what I did artistically and even if I don’t get cast from this, hopefully my audition will bring me other opportunities down the road.

I also worked feverishly to finish a second draft of my solo play and submitted it to the Public Theatre’s Emerging Writers Group fellowship. Not sure what my chances are for even getting an interview for the fellowship, but even so, it was good way to motivate me into continue work on the script.

This Sunday, I attended a casting agent workshop where we got to do a Q&A; with the agent. She is from LA and is working on a lot of big movies right now, but I can really mention her name because even though they are allowed to hold workshops, when they are working on movie projects with the major studios, they are discouraged against it. I learned a lot of things from her, such as when actors get sides to read for LOST, the sides are actually fake. This makes sense since the show’s plotlines are so secretive. The last half of the workshop we worked on scenes, and I was very happy with what I got to do with my scene (which was from Six Degrees, the now defunct TV show from last fall). Also got good feedback from her, as well as a nice email from the workshop coordinator which said I was one of the few that she liked very much. OK, I think I’ve done enough this week to earn my labor day!

One thought on “Busy busy busy

Leave a Reply

