Home

On my way to my director’s apartment to do a little dramaturgin on Red Flamboyant, I walked across the Westside highway and looked over to my right and there in it’s shining beauty was the first fifty stories of the new Freedom Tower. After years and years of stagnation and public fights between architects and city planners, I kind of forgotten about the WTC development. But now, there it stands, and you really can’t miss it when you’re down in FiDi. Even though the tower is still being erected, it’s about as tall as most of the buildings in that area. You can already start to make out it’s glass skin with its pizza slice corners starting to take shape. I’m excited about the tower, but what I’m most excited about is the 9/11 memorial. I think it’s beautifully designed and I know I’ll be making several trips there not only to honor those who’ve lost their lives on 9/11 but also to appreciate the architecture and green space the designers have created for the city of New York.

Leave a Reply

